Kaleidoscopes and Dreamscapes

Good Morning Greenville Avenue

I must admit, Dallas is providing more fun neighborhood finds than I’ve given it credit for. This morning I unintentionally discovered a wonderful sandwich shop on lower Greenville Avenue called Corner Market. I was in the area for clothes shopping at the Buffalo Exchange but as I was leaving the café caught my eye. It’s actually a sandwich/coffee/flower shop combined but the mixture works well.

What made this shop so great was the conversation I had with a few customers and employees. People were really friendly which is sometimes difficult to find in Dallas, especially in the area I work in. I was looking over their sandwiches and foods in a glass case near the counter when I noticed a girl struggling with a rather large camera and a reflective screen. She was trying to take a picture of a sandwich. I asked if she were a food journalist or had a blog but she said she was a photographer hired to do some photos for the store’s website. Her name was Ginger.

I offered to hold Ginger’s wily screen while she photographed the sandwich. We talked about photography, her studies, and how when photographing food you must make it look desirable. A man and woman walked up and we all spoke. Later the man introduced himself as Chuck. He left out the fact that he was the owner.

I ordered the Mediterranean sandwich with herb cream cheese, roasted red peppers, cucumbers, red onion and sprouts on a 12 grain bread. It was really good, especially the bread that even had walnuts in it. While I ate I talked with Jennie a lovely mother who sat on a couch in the corner. Jenny worked at Corner Market for six years and told me about the restaurant and the neighborhood. She told me they were in the process of installing a rooftop garden. I was really excited about this idea. It’s so great to hear of more and more people having gardens in the city.

To finish off my visit I bought a black currant and raspberry scone for later and looked over the flower shop.

This entry was published on August 30, 2011 at 1:57 am and is filed under Coffee, Food, Musings, Travel, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a comment